HomeAbout the AuthorEventsGracesOrder Beth's books

     Sanctioned by the Church, the Devotion to the Mother of Sorrows can be found below.  The Sorrows are followed by the Graces.

The Seven Sorrows of Our Blessed Mother

Sorrow 1: The prophecy of Simeon
Sorrow 2: The flight into Egypt
Sorrow 3: The loss of the Child Jesus in the temple
Sorrow 4: The meeting of Jesus and Mary on the Way of the Cross
Sorrow 5: The Crucifixion
Sorrow 6: The taking down of the Body of Jesus from the Cross
Sorrow 7: The burial of Jesus

According to St. Bridget of Sweden (1303-1373), these graces are granted to the souls who honor her daily by meditating on each sorrow and praying a Hail Mary for each sorrow.

1. I will grant peace to their families.
2. They will be enlightened about the Divine mysteries.
3. I will console them in their pains and I will accompany them in their work.
4. I will give them as much as they ask for, as long as it does not oppose the Adorable Will of my Divine Son or the sanctification of their souls.
5. I will defend them in their spiritual battles with the infernal enemy and I will protect them at every instant of their lives.
6. I will visibly help them at the moment of their death; they will see the face of their mother.
7. I have obtained (this grace) from my Divine Son, that those who propagate this devotion to my tears and dolors, will be taken directly from this earthly life to eternal happiness, since all their sins will be forgiven and my Son and I will be their eternal consolation and joy.     

Beth Leonard Books
​Author of Bible Studies for Catholics
In researching the Precious Blood of Jesus, an interesting trail of dedications arose. It seems that the early fathers of the Church fully recognized the significance of a devotion to the Most Precious Blood of Our Lord Jesus Christ, for it is his blood that is ransomed for our salvation. Pope Pius IX, in 1849, asked that the month of July be dedicated to the Feast of the Precious Blood of our Lord. Ten years later, he formalized his request by decreeing the feast be celebrated across the Universal Church. Still growing in momentum, Pope Pius X assigned the first day of July as the chosen feast day of celebration for all churches when remembering the Precious Blood of Jesus. Through an Apostolic letter of Pope John XXIII (1958-1963), he again encouraged and promoted the devotion to the Most Precious Blood of our Lord Jesus Christ. It was not until after the changes in the liturgy following Vatican II (1962-1965) that the feast was no longer mandated throughout the universal church. Many parish priests, at their own discretion, still choose to celebrate this devotion in July.
The Seven Times Jesus Shed Blood for Us
happened during the ...

1. Circumcision
2. Agony in the Garden
3. Flogging
4. Crowning of Thorns
5. Carrying of the Cross
6. Crucifixion
7. Piercing in the Side

And the graces:
1. The soul who prays them will suffer no Purgatory.
2. The soul who prays them will be accepted among the Martyrs as though 
he had spilled his blood for his faith.
3. The soul who prays them can choose three others whom Jesus will then 
keep in a state of grace sufficient to become holy.
4. No one in the four successive generations of the soul who prays them 
will be lost.
5. The soul who prays them will be made conscious of his death one month 
in advance.